default header

Games

[PC] [360] [PS3] [PSV] Spelunky

Moderator: JC Denton

[PC] [360] [PS3] [PSV] Spelunky

Unread postby Eidoloclast » 07 Jul 2009 00:11

Derek Yu's Spelunky might actually be worth your time to take a look at, Alex. 2D action-platformer with randomized levels, kind of like a roguelike in that there are elements of both luck and skill involved. I personally enjoy it, but I'm not an expert on 2D action games.

That said, it has been generating a fairly large amount of noise in the indie gaming scene recently (approximately two months ago), with people making comments like "this generation's Nethack". (It is not this generation's Nethack. This generation's Nethack is Nethack, or possibly Crawl or ADOM.)

The creator has said that the game was inspired primarily by La Mulana and the generated levels and resource management elements of roguelikes.

The game has a variety of weapons, power-ups and enemies, dungeon levels organized into worlds with different overall features and what is, to me, a brutal difficulty curve. Like a traditional roguelike, expect to die and start over many times before you complete the game, if you ever do.

http://www.derekyu.com/?p=250
http://forums.tigsource.com/index.php?topic=4017.0

Eidoloclast

Unread postby icycalm » 18 Mar 2010 18:55

http://postback.geedorah.com/foros/view ... hp?id=1233

Recap wrote:Se mostraron ayer las primeras capturas del 'remake' comercial de esta producción 'amateur'. A pesar del filtro más o menos tenue, a mí me parece un acierto de diseño y, sobre todo, una mejora aplastante sobre los ridículos 'pixels' cuadruplicados del original:

http://spelunkyworld.com/xbla.html

http://spelunkyworld.com/original.html

Solo anunciado para el XB Live Arcade norteamericano por el momento.

Vía http://www.escapistmagazine.com/forums/ ... k-Gorgeous

Looks like I might finally get to play this. Looks good, no? Recap seems to think so: