default header

Theory

1CCing: The intended way

Moderator: JC Denton

1CCing: The intended way

Unread postby Recap » 11 Nov 2008 03:12

zinger wrote:
Recap wrote:Didn't know you had a hi-score thread for this game! Since it's my first time doing this on any forum besides mine, I'll clarify that I _never_ use more than 1 credit per play. It's the reason I always ignore hi-score threads; this is a rule which makes the labor way harder and seems nobody but me follows, so there's no actual competition.

So! I'd advocate a brand-new "disclaimer" heading every hi-score thread in order to know which is the case -- true 1-credit play / fake 1-credit play (gotta love that naming convention).

I really don't know about that rule. Save states or credit feeding saves me a lot of time, which allows me to learn and experience far more games in a shorter period of time (and several of the mediocre ones become less frustrating). I'm all about playing the game as the designers intended but I don't think I'm hardcore enough to spend that much effort on games such as this one [Super Contra].

So it seems we indeed have a problem here, 'cause on the one hand you prefer to ignore the rule, but on the other, you acknowledge that as the way "the designers intended"...

But what actually got my attention from your post was the final statement. What do you mean by "games such as this one"? "Non good-enough games"? Or is it "games as terribly hard as Super Contra"?

'Cause if it's the former, well, you, in fact, are making them worse games than they actually are by ignoring the "rule"! Maybe the question here is why the hell are you wasting your time with "non good-enough games"!

And if it's the latter, you can make the game easier by going to the switches and setting the diff. level at a lower level, for God's sake!